Skip To Navigation Skip To Content

Wellness, Wellplayed

The Power of a Playlist!

Music is Powerful!

If this great book was a playlist, it would shoot to #1 with a bullet. It deserves a spot on every music lover’s bookshelf. Not only is it fun, insightful and incredibly enlightening, Jennifer has the ability to make you go back and listen to the classics – and new-found tunes, too. it’ll give you goosebumps page after page, just like your favorite song. - Eric Alper, SiriusXM Host

It soothes us, sorts us out, and transports us to a different place. It helps us to remember, and can help us to forget. Put on the right song at the right time, and you will smile, cry, tap your feet, or just breathe a contented “ah.”

In Wellness, Wellplayed, acclaimed music therapist Jennifer Buchanan shows us how to use music playlists with purpose, as a bridge to something deeper within ourselves—and a way to address our human need to feel, create, and connect.

Introduction by AMP!!

The Awesome Music Project (AMP) is a Canadian fundraising initiative designed to further research relating to music's profound impact on mental health.

Wellness, Wellplayed starts off on the right note!! with Rob Carli and Terry Stuart!

"By developing playlists, we are creating reflections of ourselves and where we’ve been. It isn’t just about the music; it’s about what a particular collection of songs and melodies can do to us. And do for us.

It turns out that a well-crafted playlist is more than just a pretty cool time machine. As you’ll find out through this wonderful book, it can provide comfort and wellness and transport us to a better place.

Here’s to making the world a better place, one playlist at a time."

Jennifer Buchanan, MBA, MTA

Music Therapist. Author. Health Entrepreneur. Speaker

If I were to try to prepare you for what this book is about, I would simply say that its intention is to teach you how to create a variety of purposeful playlists. In theory, putting together a playlist is incredibly simple — but that does not make it easy. This guide will help you dive deep into all the ways playlists can have an impact on your memory, mood, and motivation — the Wellness, Wellplayed way. - Jennifer Buchanan

Jennifer Buchanans company, JB Music Therapy has been instrumental in the implementation of hundreds of music therapy programs throughout Canada since 1991, and has been thrice nominated for the Community Impact Award by the Calgary Chamber of Commerce. 

As the author of two award-winning books, Tune In and Wellness Incorporated, Jennifer has been invited to share her musical expertise on numerous news and current affairs programs, including NBC, Fox News Health, CBC, iHeart Radio NYC, and CTV, and has been featured in such well-respect publications as The Guardian, Huffington Post, The Globe and Mail, and Canadian Living. In addition to being a Certified Music Therapist (MTA), Jennifer also holds an MBA specializing in social entrepreneurship.

"The Power of the Playlist" Presentation!

Buy the Book!

Raving Fans of Wellness, Wellplayed

Don Felder

Lead Guitar Player

The EAGLES

Jennifer, through her work, has touched many people in ways that could only be accomplished with both her special gift and her music.   Thank you Jennifer for giving me, and all those that have had the benefit of hearing you, one of the most heart warming experiences of my life.

Eric Alper

Freelance Music Publicist. SiriusXM Host

If this great book was a playlist, it would shoot to #1 with a bullet. It deserves a spot on every music lover’s bookshelf. Not only is it fun, insightful and incredibly enlightening, Jennifer has the ability to make you go back and listen to the classics – and new-found tunes, too. it’ll give you goosebumps page after page, just like your favorite song.

Shad

Shadrach Kabango

Award-Winning Rapper, Broadcaster

Anyone who loves music knows firsthand music’s therapeutic power, but books like this show how much more we can be doing with music to make ourselves and our communities more whole.  Shout out to Jennifer Buchanan and the good work of Music Therapists everywhere!