Skip To Navigation Skip To Content

Wellness, Wellplayed

The Power of a Playlist!

Uncertain times will always be with us. Perhaps music can be our proven constant.

Can music actually improve our health and well-being? The short answer is “YOU BET,” and there is so much evidence — scientific, clinical and personal — that proves it.

Music, more than ever, can be a sure friend. Even during the most challenging of times, music can reassure us that everything is going to be okay. When you are in transition or feeling lost, it can be the lifeline you need to get you through to the next step — be it a half step or a giant leap.

Just like our physical health, our mental health requires attention, perhaps now more than ever. I believe there is no better way to give it the care it needs than through the right music, at the right time, and in the right way. 

Access to the Next Complimentary Webinar and Upcoming Events!

Sign Up Here

Foreword by AMP!!

Wellness, Wellplayed starts off on the right note!! with Rob Carli and Terry Stuart!

"By developing playlists, we are creating reflections of ourselves and where we’ve been. It isn’t just about the music; it’s about what a particular collection of songs and melodies can do to us. And do for us.

It turns out that a well-crafted playlist is more than just a pretty cool time machine. As you’ll find out through this wonderful book, it can provide comfort and wellness and transport us to a better place.

Here’s to making the world a better place, one playlist at a time."

The Awesome Music Project (AMP) is a Canadian fundraising initiative designed to further research relating to music's profound impact on mental health.

Jennifer Buchanan, MBA, MTA

Jennifer Buchanans company, JB Music Therapy has been instrumental in the implementation of hundreds of music therapy programs throughout Canada since 1991, and has been thrice nominated for the Community Impact Award by the Calgary Chamber of Commerce. 

As the author of two award-winning books, Tune In and Wellness Incorporated, Jennifer has been invited to share her musical expertise on numerous news and current affairs programs and has been featured in such well-respect publications as The Guardian, Huffington Post, and The Globe and Mail. In addition to being a Certified Music Therapist (MTA), Jennifer also holds an MBA specializing in social entrepreneurship.

"The Power of the Playlist" Presentation!

Buy the Book!

Fans of Wellness, Wellplayed

Don Felder

Lead Guitar Player

The EAGLES

Jennifer, through her work, has touched many people in ways that could only be accomplished with both her special gift and her music.   Thank you Jennifer for giving me, and all those that have had the benefit of hearing you, one of the most heart warming experiences of my life.

Douglas Moore

Business Transformation

Toyota North America

Jennifer brings an insight into creating space for music. Bringing music to a place where it goes across the traditional barriers that we have as individuals, allowing us to reconnect with our internal values. It gives us the chance to remember — like looking at an old picture — with the warmth of experience and the ability to draw us out.  This is why this book is necessary, perhaps even on a daily basis. 

Eric Alper

Freelance Music Publicist. SiriusXM Host

If this great book was a playlist, it would shoot to #1 with a bullet. It deserves a spot on every music lover’s bookshelf. Not only is it fun, insightful and incredibly enlightening, Jennifer has the ability to make you go back and listen to the classics – and new-found tunes, too. it’ll give you goosebumps page after page, just like your favorite song.

Greg Bond

Partner Channel Sales

Microsoft

We had the absolute pleasure of having Jennifer attend our team’s All Hands Meeting in March. Jennifer is a fantastic storyteller and had the team captivated. The session was outstanding with Jennifer guiding us through the importance of music, how our brains respond, and how we can harness its power at different points of the day. The session was truly enlightening and received overwhelmingly positive feedback with attendees feeling energized and connected with their past and present through the music they love. Long live the mixtape!

Harvey Cohen

Vice-President

Live Nation - Central Region

For the past 15 years, I have watched in amazement as Jennifer has shared her knowledge, skill, and sheer passion for music and its power to help change lives.  Whether it is part of a recovery program  after a traumatic injury, someone experiencing a rare moment of lucidity as they go back to a special time from their past simply by hearing a few notes, or a child who cannot otherwise communicate being able to express themselves through song and dance,  the mind and soul can be reached through music in ways otherwise impossible, and Jennifer has allowed so many people to live a more fulfilling life by opening their hearts and letting the music in.

Kat Fulton

Founder

Music Therapy Ed

Jennifer captures the essence of music for wellness. The health benefits of music are elusive because we tend to get carried away with other sensory stimulation – visual, touch. But music! Jennifer shares stories in this book that will make you cry and yearn for the chance to intentionally create meaningful moments using music as more than a backdrop – as a focal point and anchor. You will feel like a creative artist after reading this book. For anyone who desires deeper and enriching relationships, follow this book’s guidance, and you’ll be in good hands. I highly recommend Jennifer Buchanan’s work.

Shad

Shadrach Kabango

Award-Winning Rapper, Broadcaster

Anyone who loves music knows firsthand music’s therapeutic power, but books like this show how much more we can be doing with music to make ourselves and our communities more whole.  Shout out to Jennifer Buchanan and the good work of Music Therapists everywhere!

Steve Gilliss

Guitars for Vets

Jennifer’s ability to break down the music experience and put a functional framework around is not only eye-opening but truly an incredible talent. Jennifer’s book, not only helped me understand my musical preferences but had me thinking about it in an entirely different way. As she walked through putting together some of her first experiences recording playlists off the radio, it had given me flashbacks to when I would do the same thing. For all of the music lovers out there who use playlists as a soundtrack to your lives, I’d highly recommend Jennifer’s book to help provide a foundation to making the most of the practice.